Apple Bluetooth Keyboard on a Surface Pro 3

 

I have a Wireless Apple keyboard which I manage to connect to my Surface Pro 3 (running Windows 10).

However the volume function keys didn’t work. This bugged me to no end so I rolled up my sleeves and used my Google-Fu to figure out a solution.

Installing the keyboard driver

I watched the YouTube (above) and being (too) clever I used a more recent version of BootCamp. The version of BootCamp I used was from using the BootCamp Assistant on my MacBook Air.

The files you want are (after you unzip the BootCamp file) under BootCamp, Drivers, Apple. The two files that you want are the AppleKeyboardInstaller64.exe and BootCamp.msi.

Copy the two files into another directory. Then run the Command Prompt as an Administrator. Switch to the directory containing the two files. Then run the command “msiexec /i BootCamp.msi” (without the quotation marks).

Remember I said I was too clever? The latest version of BootCamp failed for me. The Play/Pause, Forward, Backward function keys worked but not the Volume function keys.

So now I had to uninstall them.

Uninstalling the keyboard driver

I uninstalled Windows Driver Package – Apple Inc. Apple Keyboard from Control Panel.

But when I tried to uninstall Boot Camp Services I couldn’t! The trick to that is to right-click on the BootCamp.msi file in the directory containing the two files, and select Uninstall. Whew!

After that I followed the instructions on the YouTube video more closely. It appears that the drivers on Apple’s website, though older (2015) works. The BootCamp drivers I used was version 5.1.5722 which worked perfectly with my Apple Wireless Keyboard 2011.

Hope this helps someone out there!

Leave a Reply

